I like your method of preaching by giving them the law first to reveal their sin and how they broken His laws. Then the wrath of God. Then God’s love and the gospel last. I knew a person who wasn’t even told about the wrath of God when she “accepted” Christ, but only heard about His love. She lived a carnal lifestyle. It produced a lot of fake christians. So keep preaching how you preach. You dont have to post this. I’m just saying i agree with your method.

john15-10:

Thank you so much! That’s why I fear the whole “preach of Gods love more!” theology.
I fear it will create false Christians who think Jesus would accept their sin. We must be careful to tell them that he does not tolerate sin!

BfA

So aside from Sylvanas leading the Horde back to the days of Blackhand and Garrosh, I really don’t like Zuldazar. The city reminds me of Zul’Drak, my least favorite zone in Wrath of the Lich King, and outside reminds me of the Tanaan Jungle from Warlords of Draenor.

Also I see that Blizzard is going the way of Disney with its over-emphasis on identity politics in this expansion.

Not amused and not really interested in playing WoW right now

onion-souls:

tilthat:

TIL Without the Vikings, English would not have words like berserk, ugly, muck, skull, knife, die, and cake.

via reddit.com

“Well, those ugly Northmen raided our village, went berserk, buried a knife in my husband’s skull, force-fed our priest a cake made of dogshit, and left me to die in the muck, but they enriched the fuck out of my vocabulary.” -Wilburh, Anglo-Saxon villager

“you’re welcome” in Old Norse

manicbones:

you know what’s more freeing than killing yourself? running away to a small town and getting a job as a waitress. buying a cheap car and sticking a bed in the back and driving southwest. adopting a cat. learning a new instrument. moving apartments. visiting a friend in another city. chopping all your hair off.

you can kill your current life without dying. you can kill this version of you and make a new one.

maybe I’m just a bipolar sucker for rebirth but sometimes that thought is all that keeps me alive

yeah, if you have money and the economy is good

Do you think jesus was originally christian and white?

joyful-in-his-grace:

Jesus was the promised messiah of the Jews. He was Jewish and middle eastern. He came from Abrahamic lineage and descended from the line of David. No He wasn’t white or a “Christian.” He came to fulfill the law of the Israelites under the old covenant so he could be the spotless lamb and perfect sacrifice for the world

A Christian is a person who follows Christ as God and Lord. The term Christian came after Jesus’s incarnation referring to those who follow Him. It’s a term for New Covenant worshipping followers of YHWH which includes not only Jews but gentiles as well.

okay, why does it matter what race Jeshua was if He is the Lamb of God who takes away the sins of “the whole world?” only to people who believe that people who look like me deserve to be wiped off the planet. i hear Jeshua’s race being thrown about constantly in my church, as if to say that He and salvation don’t really belong to people like me.

as for His religion? it was Judaism that He practiced: the fact that His blood is on the Ark of the Covenant. just as the blood of the sacrificial lamb was placed on the mercy seat of the Ark on Yom Kippur, so He fulfilled the Law of Moses by pouring out His own blood for the whole world. if you look at the Gospel of Matthew, He clarifies points of the Law of Moses that were in contention: i would even argue that He clarified what it meant to keep the Sabbath by His living example. To wit, that honoring God on the seventh-day of Creation – which was instituted long before Moses was born – meant doing good, not just abstaining from work.

jenniferrpovey:

wickedmetalviking:

jenniferrpovey:

wickedmetalviking:

mindfulwrath:

Here’s a hot take: villains should be relatable.

Not every villain, not every time, and certainly not to everyone at once, but there should be moments. We should, occasionally, be able to see ourselves in the bad guys, be able to understand how they got there.

Because it reminds us not to fucking go there.

Antis who get upset about villains having relatable qualities (often couched as being “romanticized” or “woobified”) are people who cannot bear to ever think of themselves as having the capability of being wrong.

Every human alive is capable of being a horrible person. Relatable villains remind us to keep an eye on that shit.

NO!

Just no!

Everyone is doing the whole “sympathetic”, “misunderstood” and “relatable” trope with villains. It’s sickening!

And no, not because “we simply can’t imagine having the capacity to be evil”, but because this kind of trope glorifies evil. Trust me, I read the comments about how you all would love to wipe out half the world’s population in order to get rid of people like me (I also heard as much in person from such like-minded people as well): and you have the gall to call yourselves “moral”!

Relatable villains don’t caution us from evil; they desensitize us to evil. Because if you make evil “reasonable”, then all of a sudden it’s no longer evil and (like OP acknowledges, albeit in mockery) is even being worshiped and fetishized!

So fuck every and all depiction of “sympathetic”, “misunderstood” and “relatable” evil: that includes Lucifer, Sam Raimi’s sandman, MCU Loki, Maleficent from that crappy Angelina Jolie movie, Thanos, Illidan stormrage, garrosh hellscream, Sylvanas windrunner, kreia, kylo ren, and all the others!

So, we’re supposed to go back to the CCA days when all villains had to be completely and utterly irredeemable? No thanks.

That would be an improvement, actually. I’m so sick of seeing heroes getting dragged through the mud and villains being worshiped and glorified.

I don’t like it when we get the Kylo Ren effect either, but cartoon evil is simply uninteresting.

Carnage is a lot less interesting than Magneto or Killmonger. Additionally, saying people should not write interesting, relatable villains because some people become idiots about it…is kind of policing what people write instead of the real issue. It’s the same as saying violence in movies makes people violent, which has been debunked.

As a white Jew, Magneto resonates with me in exactly the way the OP is saying, “There but for…” I don’t glorify him. But I do understand him, I appreciate his motivations, and that makes the story more interesting. Is there a line? Heck, yes. But sometimes, Magneto is right. Sometimes Killmonger is right. They are the kind of “right” that sees the point, sees the line, and tears it right apart and we look at that and go “Wow…I agree with them, but they have to stop right now.”

Like I said, I’m tired of Kylo Ren Syndrome too, but cartoon evil is not an improvement. (Then again, Kylo Ren is not that well written a villain. There’s nothing scary about him, so of course people fetishize him. You’re supposed to be afraid of the villain, even if you relate to them).

yes, because “wipe out all humans” and “wipe out all white people” are SUCH glorious and noble aspirations. You sound exactly like the people in the comments list and the people i met irl.

I would have preferred Carnage to what we got in Spiderman 3. It was nothing short of emotional manipulation, rewriting Uncle Ben’s death to try to make the audience feel bad for this gaping mouthed ape whose actions:

  1. ended one life (Uncle Ben’s)
  2. ruined at least five others (his wife, his sick daughter, his partner – who is now dead because Spiderman offed him, thinking he killed Uncle Ben [and by the way, changing it up now makes Parker’s decision to not stop him meaningless] – not to mention Aunt May and Peter Parker)

“Some people”? The way everyone and their mother is making every villain “relatable”, that should read everyone. Hell, people got pissed about Downfall, of all things, for its portrayal of Hitler, saying that it was “too sympathetic” (even though he and his chief stooge goebbels-dick blame everyone else for their failure and wish the German people to “drown in their own blood”). By and large, it’s gotten out of hand.

The truth is that there are monsters in this world: MAPs, varg vikernes, abusive parents, antifa, to name but a few. These people thrive on the understanding of society: we feel sorry for criminals because “they’re people too” and “they have good reason to do their actions” or “they were just influenced by circumstances.” So they get off scott free and saunter away with a smile on their faces, and go back to doing what they’ve been doing, without feeling an ounce of remorse or apology for their actions.

Sort of an aside, but sometimes I wonder if this whole “misunderstood villain” trope is done specifically to excuse the evil of some people and not others because, as a straight white man, i have NEVER seen my demographic portrayed in a “relatable” and “sympathetic” light: no, because people like me are always the “cartoon villain” who don’t deserve to be understood (and yes, i will argue that kylo ren is cartoonish: he whines like a big baby, smashes his toys, and did you even see how he behaved in The Last Jedi? In fact, I’ll go so far as to say that the whole way that the First Order was portrayed as cartoonish and laughably incompetent in The Last Jedi was because a certain poorly-tanned straight white male became President of the United States and Disney’s writers are paying homage to Karl Marx more than Joseph Campbell).

Lastly, I’m going to throw back at you your assessment that “violence in movies makes people violent is debunked.” To play devil’s advocate, if we believe that entertainment has no significant bearing on how people behave, why then is there a massive push for forced diversity? According to the defenders of forced diversity, people won’t feel “included” or “valued” unless we force diversity into entertainment (hell, they even do it to historical accounts as well!). Because they actually are cognizant of entertainment’s influence on people and want to use it to push their narrative.